Writers of all times – Lewis and Tolkien

Dedicated to my very good friend and sister in Christ, Flavia, whose gentle acts and loving heart has made me go through the shadows of my mind and made me realize that no matter what circumstances are, I am loved! And you are, too! I very much know her favorite author is C.S.Lewis, and I can’t deny I feel the same. So this article will be focused more on this amazing man’s writing and Tolkien’s ,too.

I feel like writing about real legends. It’s such an amazing feeling. Like one of the things that keep me going with this blog. And now, with no further introduction (because I believe most of you know who these great personalities are), let’s get on with this article!

Mr. Clive Staples wan’t just a British novelist, poet, academic, medievalist, literary critic, essayist, lay theologian, broadcaster, lecturer, and Christian apologist. He was also the one that inspired a whole new generation to believe and act in faith and love, to think and to share meaningful thoughts onto the world. 7d8abb2db9d903c5fbc9928e0df027f9.jpg

He became an atheist at age 15, though he later described his young self as being paradoxically “angry with God for not existing”. His early separation from Christianity began when he started to view his religion as a chore and a duty; around this time, he also gained an interest in the occult, as his studies expanded to include such topics.

He eventually returned to Christianity, having been influenced by arguments with his Oxford colleague and Christian friend J. R. R. Tolkien (another of my favorites, The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings are without doubts, the best movies ever, along with Narnia!), whom he seems to have met for the first time on 11 May 1926.

Among his well-known stories, I shall remind some of my favorites: The Screwtape Letters, Chronicles of Narnia, Mere Christianity and so on and so forth. Not only he’s been a researcher and a funny person, but he has also been known for one of the biggest atheists to ever turn to God.

Fun facts: When CS Lewis was four, his dog ‘Jacksie’ was run over with a car. Shortly after, he announced his name was now ‘Jacksie’ and would not answer to any other name, but later accepted ‘Jacks’ which became ‘Jack’, the name by which he was known to friends and family for the rest of his life.

Lewis himself never learned to type, always depending on pens. One reason was because of the clumsiness caused by Lewis’s only having one joint in his thumbs’ preventing him from using a typewriter properly. Yet, it wasn’t just his thumbs keeping him from the typewriter, he chose not to type. “This mechanical mode of writing”, he believed, “interfered with the creative process in that the incessant clacking of the typewriter keys dulled the writer’s appreciation of the rhythms and cadences of the English language.”

Nowadays, C.S. Lewis’s books encourage so many people to never stop believing in God, and the Screwtape Letters explain so well all the attacks that Christians go through, some of them are unbelievable hidden inside something more powerful than we’ve ever imagined. Understanding God’s power is understanding the enemy’s mind too.

Favorite quotes: 

Isn’t it funny how, day by day, nothing changes, but when you look back everything is different;

To be a Christian is to FORGIVE the inexcusable because God has FORGIVEN the inexcusable in you;

God doesn’t want something from us; He simply wants us;

A woman’s heart should be so lost in God, that a man must seek Him in order to find her;

My prayer is that when I die, all of hell rejoices that I am out of the fight (my fave!)

I’m on Aslan side, even if there isn’t any Aslan to lead it. I’m going to live as like a Narnian as I can, even if there isn’t any Narnia.

j-r-r-tolkien-c-s-lewis-140807.jpg

Among C.S. Lewis, I also love J.R.R. Tolkien. His Hobbit tales and the way he writes gives me chills every time I hear about him. The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings have always been my favorites, even though I had some hard times understanding the movie and the words in the books. But eventually, now as I’m a little more grown-up and mature, I can understand a lot better than I did 2 years ago.

The great thing is that these two amazing authors have actually been very good friends. It’s funny how things just bind together; at first it seems meaningless, but then, after years maybe, you realize that all destiny is so well planned and so beautifully arranged for the good of the main character in life’s story.

All of his characters in the stories are related to the Bible and make perfect sense: Bilbo as the usual man, looking for adventure and trying to find the meaning of life, Gandalf as the one trying to drag lazy people out of their comfort zone, Smaug as the devil who’s trying to insert lies in Bilbo’s mind, the group of dwarves as particular homeless fighters. Tolkien was influenced by his own selective reading of medieval texts regarding the Jewish people and their history. The dwarves’ characteristics of being dispossessed of their homeland (the Lonely Mountain, their ancestral home, is the goal the exiled Dwarves seek to reclaim), and living among other groups whilst retaining their own culture are all derived from the medieval image of Jews, whilst their warlike nature stems from accounts in the Hebrew Bible. When writing The Lord of the Rings Tolkien continued many of the themes he had set up in The Hobbit, only the main character was now Frodo Baggins, Bilbo’s nephew.

 

So this would be the story of two of my favorites authors and their works. Thank you all for taking time to read this! I hope you’re lotr fans, hobbit fans or Narnians like me 😀 If not, that’s okay. I still love you 😉 Also check out Flavia’s blog in the link above (at the beginning of this article). She has some amazing ideas and she’s such an amazing girl; you’ll love her! Thank you all so much! Have a gorgeous day!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Writers of all times – Lewis and Tolkien

    1. SidewalkHypermoon says:

      Aww thank you so much for these greateful words! I am indeed glad you liked it! I hope I can continue inspiring people and write well, especially with LoVe 😀 cuz it’s the most important thing after all 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

